There are 3 lemons. I asked for 12. Baby wanted 12.

I don’t even know how many times, when buying lemons, I’ve said, “Baby wanted 12. Wait, These are just show lemons?!”.  The Break Up, anyone?  I know people have mixed feelings about it, but I love that movie!

lemons

I remember watching it when it came out. I was 18 and I remember thinking that Jennifer Anistons character was crazy town. Who would freak out like that and break up over lemons and dishes?!

Scene: My Kitchen, Monday Night.

Me: (slamming pots and pans around, prepping dinner)
Johnny: What are you doing, do you need help with dinner?
Me: No, I can’t get dinner ready until the kitchen is cleaned up! I just wish you wanted to want to do the dishes!

Literally, those words come out of my mouth. Boom, we just accidentaly acted out the scene I always thought was crazy and unrealistic. But here I was, on a random week night, and I totally got it now. After I realized how sillly I sounded, we started laughing and saying, ” What my baby wants, my baby gets!” and “Why would you want 12 lemons?”

Anyways, when people say that getting married changes your relationship, this is a perfect example of how! I never would have imagined we’d argue about loading a dishwasher, but here we are. Johnny has always done “the heavy” housework, ie. mowing the lawn, taking out the trash, shoveling the snow, cleaning up dog “business”, etc. I started from day one with the “cleaning” for no other reason than that I am very specific about how I like things cleaned. This is not to say that Johnny doesn’t help with loading/unloading the dishwasher, but he has never mopped or scrubbed the tub.

I think, for the most part, this has worked perfectly for us. We make a great team and if nothing else, I really think that’s what marriage is all about…working together for the greater good. I love my hubby very much and appreciate everything he does for our little family. I probably don’t tell him that enough or really stop to think about all he does outside of the “everyday” stuff.

Sometimes, you have those “baby wanted 12″ moments.  And I think hope most woman can relate to me on that.

But, let’s be honest, who would “want” to want to do the dishes? No one, that’s who! I know I don’t want to scrub a toilet the same way Johnny doesn’t want to shovel the driveway. We do it because we want to make our life together nicer for each other.  Sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in everyday life and forget to remind each other just how much you appreciate the things the other one does to make your house a home. 

That’s my take after a year and half of marriage.  Expert status, I know ;)  Good topic for a week before Valentine’s day, I think <3  Let me know your thoughts!

How do you and your spouse/significant other/roommate divide up house work? How do you work through issues and remind your love that you appreciate them?

9 thoughts on “There are 3 lemons. I asked for 12. Baby wanted 12.

  1. Kristy @ Kristy's Health Revolution

    My fiance and I split up chores pretty much the same way you and your hubby do. I know for a fact that if I start complaining about how messy the house is and start on a cleaning spree, Zach will immediately start vacuuming. Never fails, and I appreciate it every time! Also, if there are dishes in the sink when I’m headed out for an after-work run, I remind him that it will take me twice as long to cook dinner when I get back if I have to do the dishes, too, so he will do it. It’s nice to have “known” chores, because then there isn’t much conflict over who should do what. And I like that in our relationship, if either of us asks the other to do something, we always do it without complaining. It makes everything easier.

    Reply
    1. Emily Post author

      Aww so sweet, you found a good one! :) It’s so nice to be able to ask for help and know you’ll get it willingly.

      When are you getting married?!

  2. Pingback: Do you believe in “The One”?! |

Any thoughts to share?!

