Strawberry Lime Protein Muffins

Remember that time I promised a new recipe and never delivered? Ya, me either.  BUT, today I finally remember to take pictures when I made them.  I’ve been making these for weeks, but just holding out on you.  I’m sorry…can we still be friends?

These muffins remind me of summer.  The strawberry and lime go so well together and taste so fresh.  Plus, a little extra protein makes these guys “less pastry” and “more substantial”. This week I actually forgot the banana, so they are pretty hard (read: kinda like little rocks).  So, be sure to do as I say, not as I do!

IMG_3208

Strawberry Lime Protein Muffins

Recipe Adapted from Tone It Up

  • 1.5 cups Brown Rice Protein Powder
  • 1 cup Brown Rice Flour
  • 2 Whole Eggs, 2 Egg Whites
  • 2 tbs ground flaxseed
  • 3 Tbs unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup no sugar added applesauce (organic)
  • 2 Tbs coconut oil
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1 T Vanilla
  • Zest of One Lime
  • Juice of One Lime
  • 1/2 Cup Strawberries
  • Stevia, to taste

Combine all the ingredients in a mixing bowl except the strawberries.

IMG_3212

Spray a muffin tin and pour mixture in.

IMG_3216Place equal about of strawberries each spot and then cover with the batter.  IMG_3217

Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes until a toothpick come out clean.

IMG_3218

Tada!

IMG_3220

These have been my mid-morning snack staple for a few weeks and have been great at keeping me full.  Also, since they aren’t overly sweet, they don’t make me crazy more sweets either.  They are perfect with an iced coffee when you need a little break.  Enjoy! :)

What is your favorite flavor combination right now?  What are you snacking on?

Have a great Monday, friends!

Any thoughts to share?!

