Dad’s Day

As promised, my dad is getting his own dedicated post for Father’s Day!

That man….it’s amazing what he puts up with! First of all, he is a saint. Let’s be honest, living with three woman had to be rough. But three whiny, prissy (me), LOUD, and high maintenance (um, me) women for 20+ years was no walk in the park.

On top of that, my dad is a guy’s guy. He’s 6’1 with a bald head and a beard. He hunts, flips houses, works in finance/real estate, and is a true pool shark. He ALWAYS has a Starbucks coffee (his fav which still makes me laugh!) or Diet Pepsi in hand and drives a pick up truck. Think Duck Dynasty, maybe a strange mix of Jace and Uncle Sy and you have my dad. Every single boyfriend I ever had was terrified of him.

165951_565945405577_1960956750_n

But the funny thing is, he looks scary, but is genuinely the nicest person you’ll meet. He’ll give you the shirt off his back and actually, I think he has done that a few times. When I was little, he gave our neighbor CPR and saved his life. That was just one of the THREE times he’s done CPR, too.

My dad had cancer when I was just two years old and while I don’t remember much, I do remember going to see him in the hospital. He nearly died after a particularly scary surgery and I constantly thank god he survived so that I was able to know my dad.

He invited his oncologist, Dr. Bress, to our wedding. My dad sent a letter to go along with the invitation and I still chock up thinking about….

“Doc, My family and I would love for you to attend our youngest daughters wedding. It seems only right that you celebrate with us because without you, I wouldn’t be walking her down the aisle.”

The day of the wedding, in our receiving line, a older man and his wife came up to us extending his hand and said, “I”m sure you don’t remember me, Emily, but my name is Dr….” I immediately cut him off and hugged him. “Thank you for saving my dad”, I sobbed and we all started to cry. It was a really special moment.

388793_549775758499_2090057275_n

It’s one of those things you dream of as a little girl, walking down the aisle with your dad. For me, it was one of the best moments of the day. I realized how lucky I was to be able to experience it. Just a single minute alone with my dad that can never be replaced. <3

293202_284731211541985_2691040_n

I’m sure my dad never dreamed of all the dance recitals he’d sit through, or all the ponytails he’d learn to do, or dressing Barbie dolls for hours. I’m sure he also wasn’t prepared for all the hours on the phone with friends and boys, having to telling us to change our clothes because shorts were too short or a shirt was too tight, or consoling my sister or I after a broken heart. But I think my dad was always meant to have daughters. He truly is the BEST dad there is and I don’t know what I’d do without him.

Happy Dad’s Day, Poppa! I love you :)

I hope you all enjoy the day with your fathers, grandfathers, brothers, husbands, or any important man in your life <3

3 thoughts on “Dad’s Day

  1. Pingback: Things & Thoughts-Friday Addition |

Any thoughts to share?!

