Le Tired

Hey, hey.  Happy Hump day!! Is it just me or does it feel like it should be NEXT Thursday already?! Geez, this week is going sloooooow.

My birthday turned out really nice!  A sweet coworker/friend greeted me with a nice card first thing in the morning,

birthdaycard

I also felt great all day in my new skirt!  I went a little shopping crazy a few weeks ago….

limitedskirt

I got a very thoughtful gift from Johnny’s grandparents, too!  Seriously, his Grandma is in her late 70’s and I absolutely loved everything she picked out.  She has great taste!

bdaygifts

My sister and her boyfriend brought me a very thoughtful gift later in the evening!  The card said “here are some of your favorite “fall treats” because you don’t deserve any “tricks”!  Can you tell my sister is a teacher?! haha

3

4

LOVE this new color. Essie polish, fo life yo.

My parents took us out to dinner and we also put an offer on another house (!!!).  My mom and I have plans for another date on Friday because she wouldn’t think of anything to get me for my birthday, so instead she’s just taking me shopping! Works for me ;)

****************

So, anyways, the house!!  We’re keeping out fingers crossed and we should know something today.  This is our third offer, so third time’s the charm right ;)  We shall see!

I have to admit, though, I am le tired.

leTired

(source)

All the running we’ve been doing for the past 5 weeks or so is really catching up to me!  I haven’t sleep well (maybe cause I’ve been dreaming of houses!) and have been waking up multiple times a night.

Also, I haven’t had any energy.  Like, none.  I’ve been trying to get back into morning workouts to pick me back up, but when I get a terrible nights sleep, I can’t wake up early and thus starts a vicious cycle!  My doctors told me to take it easy on the workouts and not stress my body, but I think I need to start adding back in something even if it is low-key.

So, friends, what are you recommendations to a good nights sleep and getting my butt up early to start working out again?

I’d love to hear what you have to say! :)

14 thoughts on “Le Tired

    1. Emily Post author

      Thank you!! I usually try not to exercise, even yoga, in the evenings because it always seems to energize me instead of relax. Maybe I’ll just try stretching….

  1. Clara (@SoThintellect)

    This is my 1st time visiting your blog & it’s tres adorable! A Happy Belated-Birthday to ya!! I’m completely in love with that essie color & that skirt!

    As for sleep tips, I find that I get the best nights sleep simply by sticking to a relaxing evening routine (i.e., falling asleep to reading a book). Turning off/Putting away all my electronics/technology about an hour before I fall asleep usually helps a lot. Hope your sleep quality improves soon (and good luck on the house!)

    Reply
    1. Emily Post author

      Thanks for stopping by, Clara! And for the sweet compliments :)

      I think you may be right…I know I’m guilty of scrolling through my phone in bed and running right up until my head hits the pillow! I think I’ll try to start relaxing an hour before bed tonight.

  2. Becky @ Olives n Wine

    Your birthday looks like it was fab – what great gifts!! And I wouldn’t say no to a day of shopping either ;) House buying is SO stressful, I feel you. We put in a few offers because we found our condo and in the end, I’m glad none of them worked out because we loved our place in Minneapolis! As for sleeping/waking up early. You just gotta bite the bullet and wake up early one day. Start tomorrow! Set your alarm, get up even though you won’t want to, work out and then you’ll be sleeeppppyyy by bedtime. It creates a good cycle :)

    Reply
    1. Emily Post author

      That’s a really good point! One day of pure tiredness should kick the new cycle into gear!

      I think coming to the end of the house buying process should help as well! Thanks, love :)

  3. Jan @ Sprouts n Squats

    Hope you had a good birthday which it sounds like you did. I don’t think I’ve ever tried Essie nail polish before which is surprising as I’ve tried A LOT of other brands but I think Essie is harder to come by here in Australia.

    Love that skirt by the way.

    Not 100% sure but assuming you are trying to sell your house? Anyway whenever I have trouble sleeping I find trying to meditate before sleeping can help, also writing down everything I am thinking about to just get the thoughts out of my head and on paper can help too. In saying that sometimes even with those strategies I still have nights where I can’t sleep so I feel your pain!

    Reply
    1. Emily Post author

      Hi Jan, I did…thanks for the kind wishes!!

      I’m so bummed to hear you don’t have Essie in Australia! It’s a favorite over here and I’m embarrassed to admit how many I own! haha

      We’re trying to buy a house at the moment, and we’re renting the one we live in now! Writing things down is a GREAT idea…I’ll have to try that! thanks!

Any thoughts to share?!

